Who’s who at St Mary’s

Our Churchwardens at St Mary’s

silhouetteJeff & Kathy Griffiths

Jeff and Kathy are husband and wife and took on the role of co-Churchwardens in 2023. They live in Kings Hill.

Along with Clare, Jeff and Kathy are responsible for the fabric of the church buildings and, also, looking after the clergy of the parish.

Clare InnesClare Innes

Clare has been a Churchwarden since the Spring of 2017. She is married to Duncan and they live in Offham.

Along with Jeff and Kathy, Clare is responsible for the fabric of the church buildings and, also, looking after the clergy of the parish.

Lay Ministers

Margaret MooreMargaret Moore

Margaret Moore is an authorized Lay Reader. Readers are lay people in the Church of England, from all walks of life, who are called by God and licensed by the Church to preach, teach, lead worship and assist the clergy in pastoral and other duties. Margaret regularly leads services and preaches and visits the sick and housebound for Home Communion.

Hon. Associate Minister

Canon Alan VousdenCanon Alan Vousden

Alan is a retired Vicar who lives in West Malling. During his career, he served in a number of parishes around the Diocese of Rochester including Cuxton and Halling, Bromley and Rainham. Before he retired, his last role was as the Bishop’s Chaplain to the Bishop of Rochester. Alan supports our Clergy Team by taking services and preaching on an occasional basis.

Director of Music

Nick CastellNicholas Castell

Nick lives in Wrotham and works as Director of Music, Assistant Head of Lower School and Head of Senior School Houses at Walthamstow Hall School in Sevenoaks. He has been our Director of Music at St Mary’s since 2023. As well as playing the organ for Sunday services, Nick leads our choir, scholar programme and junior choir and oversees the musical life of our church.

Our Parish Safeguarding Officer

silhouetteAndy Rathbone

Andy has been a member of St Mary’s since 2011 and has served for many years as our Parish Safeguarding Officer. Andy is also Chair of Governors at West Malling CEP School. Andy takes a lead on ensuring that St Mary’s is a safe place for everyone. If you ever wish to ask a question or raise a concern, you can always speak to Andy in person or contact him via the website.


The Churchwardens, LLMs and Deanery Synod representatives + John Denny (Treasurer), Seamus Smyth (Secretary), David Day, Vicky Richardson, Lesley Bays and Jane Field.

Treasurer: John Denny

PCC Secretary: Seamus Smyth

Deanery Synod representatives:
John Musker and (one vacancy)